Day 60: Keremeos to Princeton – Deer and eggs for breakfast, All-You-Can-Eat Indian for lunch and deer and mashed potato for dinner

Bert heard I had never eaten deer before, so he defrosted an entire hind-leg he had in his fridge. Part of it was going to Andrea to make jerkie, part for us to eat and the scraps for the dogs and the cats, who go wild for it.

Bert made deer meat and eggs for breakfast. It’s a dark-red meat, and Bert said the trick is to slice it into thin squares to make it easier to chew. It was delicious with a bit of salt and pepper. He also made deer-meat gravy for us to soak over a piece of bread, a traditional Manitoban dinner.

We went over to Jamie and Andrea’s farm and they were all outside in the yard splitting the cloves of garlic for planting over the next few weeks, so we sat down and helped them clear

Traditional Manitoban desert

out three sacks full. Last night I may have mentioned that I thought garlic grew on trees. I grew up in Manchester, I’d never seen it in the ground before.

Here’s what I now know about it now.

Garlic is a root. The white ones you buy in supermarkets have been dyed to appear cleaner. It also stops them sprouting so you can’t plant them. Garlic needs a period of frost to bud, which is why it sprouts that little green shoot if you keep it in the fridge and then leave it out. Thus ends all I know about garlic.

Way back in Regina I was in a cafe and I was talking to an eccentric cyclist who told me he  swears by garlic when he’s cycle-touring. It’s good for the blood and the heart, he said. That afternoon I bought some garlic and put it in my bag. I haven’t seen it since so I reckon I’ll find it when this trip’s done, rotting amongst my bike tools.

After dinner at Keremeos’ finest restaurant I cycled the 60km hop to Princeton. Tomorrow I have to go up the hill to Manning Park at 1,300m. It shouldn’t be too much of a problem, I expect.

That’ll get me to the town of Hope, my last stop before Vancouver! It’s almost over…

